CT Poets Tour

Tuesday, February 26, 2019
7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Charles E. Shain Library Charles Chu Room
Event Type
Katie Trautlein
English Department

 The Connecticut Poetry Circuit was established in 1968 to continue the work of the New England Poetry Circuit, which was established in 1964 at the request of the Academy of American Poets.  The work of the Circuit is guided by a panel of poets: Randall Horton, Vivian Shipley, Clare Rossini, Kate Rushin, and John Stanizzi.  Dick Allen, who faithfully served on and promoted the Circuit for many years, passed away in December.  In his last email submitting his judging results, he wrote about this “hugely valuable competition for Connecticut college student poets.” The Circuit is directed by James Gentile.

Each year the panel nominates an outstanding poet to give a series of readings in Connecticut at various colleges.  These readings occur during two weeks in mid-fall.  Poets who have toured the Circuit include Theodore Deppe, Martin Espada, X.J. Kennedy, James Merrill, Robert Pinsky, Adrienne Rich, and Charles Wright.   Also, the panel serves as judges of a state-wide contest of college student poets.  Five student poets are selected each year and then they tour in the spring.  They have also been invited to read at Sunken Garden Poetry Festival. 

The Connecticut Poetry Circuit is not funded; the panel and the co-directors serve gratis in order to bring poetry to colleges and to encourage student poets.

Download (45K) CT Poetry Circuit Poster 2019.pdf
CT Poets Tour 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Charles E. Shain Library Charles Chu Room
Get Directions
Event Date
Event Time